For enquiries or information about HASANZ email us at or complete this form.

For information about HASANZ membership please click on the button below:

HASANZ Independent Chair

Craig Smith

"Over the past three years, I have focused on developing initiatives which will reduce workplace deaths and serious injuries and improve occupational health outcomes. I am committed to following through on the change agenda set by the Taskforce report and the Government's response, Working Safer."

Craig is well known in the health and safety sector. He was Secretariat Lead for the Independent Taskforce on Workplace Health and Safety. Subsequently, Craig assisted the Establishment Board of WorkSafe New Zealand to develop the agency's first Statement of Intent. Most recently, he has been helping WorkSafe on its approach to its role as regulator. Previously, Craig worked for the Department of Labour as Chief Adviser, Employment Relations and Strategic Adviser to the Deputy Chief Executive, Health and Safety.

Implementation Support Manager

Karen Chaney
phone +64 4 901 8777

Karen manages HASANZ's ongoing business and is responsible for the delivery of key projects. This includes scoping the development of a national, online register of workplace health and safety professionals. She has a solid background in service delivery and project management in the UK in the telecommunications industry and 15 years' experience in New Zealand's energy sector, ranging from advising on workplace H&S compliance to leading the Business team at the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority.

HASANZ Leadership Team

Australian/New Zealand Society of Occupational Medicine (ANZSOM)

Dr Rosy Fenwicke
Human Factors and Ergonomics Society of New Zealand (HFESNZ)

Marion Edwin
Maintenance Engineers Society of New Zealand (MESNZ)

Dr Joe Bain
NZ Institute of Hazardous Substances Management (NZIHSM)

Phillip Tse
New Zealand Institute of Safety Management (NZISM)

Greg Dearsly
NZ Occupational Health Nurses Association (NZOHNA)

Judy Currie
NZ Occupational Hygiene Society (NZOHS)

Derek Miller
New Zealand Safety Council (NZSC)

Andy Loader
Occupational Therapy New Zealand (OTNZ)

Jane Cowan-Harris
Physiotherapy New Zealand (Occupational Health Group)

Rachel Lilley